News & Updates

AB Duke Alum Makes Short List for Man Booker Prize

September 16, 2015


Acclaimed novelist and A.B. Duke Scholar alumna Anne Tyler is among six writers announced on September 15, 2015 as the shortlisted authors for the 2015 Man Booker Prize for Fiction. The other authors are Marlon James, Tom McCarthy, Chigozie Obioma, Sunjeev Sahota and Hanya Yanagihara.

The six names were announced by Chair of judges, Michael Wood, at a press conference at the offices of sponsor Man Group.

The judges remarked on the variety of writing styles, cultural heritage and literary backgrounds of the writers on the shortlist, which includes new authors alongside established names. Two authors come from the United Kingdom, two from the United States and one apiece from Jamaica and Nigeria.

Read an excerpt of Tyler’s nominated novel, A Spool of Blue Thread, here.

Screen Shot 2015-09-16 at 4.25.36 PM

The 2015 shortlist of six novels is:

Author (nationality)                  Title (imprint)


Marlon James (Jamaica)       A Brief History of Seven Killings (Oneworld Publications)


Tom McCarthy (UK)               Satin Island (Jonathan Cape)


Chigozie Obioma (Nigeria)       The Fishermen (ONE, Pushkin Press)


Sunjeev Sahota (UK)               The Year of the Runaways (Picador)


Anne Tyler (US)                       A Spool of Blue Thread (Chatto & Windus)


Hanya Yanagihara (US)           A Little Life (Picador)